The ANC loses the mayors of Johannesburg and Pretoria

After the recent local government elections, South Africa’s ruling party, the African National Congress, lost control of the city councils of Johannesburg and other major cities.

The African National Congress failed to form an alliance with the smaller opposition parties and lost control of the country’s largest cities, Johannesburg, Ekuhuleni, and the Tshwane metropolitan area including the capital Pretoria, thus causing problems. more complicated.

The Democratic Alliance opposition party successfully formed the alliance, and now all three cities in Gauteng, the economic center of South Africa, have mayors.

The African National Congress was so divided by competition that it did not even appoint a mayor candidate for Tshwane.

The African National Congress will also lose control of the eThekwini metropolitan area, the former stronghold of the region, including Durban, and it is expected that smaller opposition parties will support the Democratic Alliance to form a coalition.

It is widely believed that the ANC’s poor performance in municipal elections is due to voters’ inadequate provision of basic services to the party, severe power outages, and growing frustration with many of its leaders’ numerous allegations of corruption. The internal differences were blamed on the failure to form a ruling coalition.

President Cyril Ramaphosa, leader of the African National Congress, described the loss of the city as a “major setback.”

Ramaphosa said: “As the chairman of the ruling party, the African National Congress is disappointing, but this is how we should receive a clear message from the people. We have already noticed.” We have listened, and this is an issue for us A big setback, but also a big lesson. “

However, the African National Congress gained control of the Nelson Mandela Bay metropolitan area, which included Gqeberha (formerly Port Elizabeth).

Local government elections in South Africa are held every five years and determine the composition of the city council responsible for providing basic services such as water, waste removal and sanitation. City councillors then elect the mayor.


Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *